30 day challenge

Posted on March 12, 2011

25


So i keep seeing this 30-day challenge on blogs, hearing about it from friends, but I haven’t paid it much attention. Until now.  One of my best friends in the world has been doing it on his blog, and up until reading his I hadn’t really seen a purpose.  To me it was reminiscent of those questionnaires/surveys we’d post on myspace and facebook (which I did all the time, btw).  I didn’t understand why it was a “challenge”; reading his i realized though: being reflective can be challenging; thinking about our stance on religion, who we look up to, where we see ourself at the age of fifty, will all help figure out who we are at this point in time and where we see our life going. I think it will be grounding.  So here we go. Day one

1. Name two of the most significant people in your life and explain why.

I love that this was hard for me to answer, because I have so many significant, unique, inspiring people in my life.

First, my mom.  We have been through some very rocky points, times where I didn’t know if i would ever feel connected to her or my dad again because of the hurt and broken trust and poor communication.  Today it is an entirely different story, a lot of healing has happened.  Especially over the last 6 – 12 months I have realized how much my mom shaped me into the person I am today.  She always minimizes her influence on me, I don’t think even she can see that without her being a “no shit taking” kind of person I wouldn’t be either.  Or that her making it very clear from a young age that healthy relationships (ones free from possessiveness and such) are important, or that being the quirky kid wasn’t a bad thing were all key factors of me becoming me.  My strength and independence comes from her (and my gma), and my drive was nurtured by the kind of person she is.  I am incredibly lucky to have such a strong woman in my life, and without her and everything we’ve been through (the good and the bad) I would not be the person I am today.

Second, my best friend Miguel.  Miguel and I have been friends since freshman year of highschool.  Somewhere in our sophomore year we began hanging out every day, and that didn’t stop for about ten years (basically until i moved to hawaii six months ago).  Miguel and I have been through a lot and that is an understatement. Our relationship has had more dysfunctions and fights and compassion and love than most people can probably understand, especially when looking in from the outside. The complexities are extreme.  But again, without everything we have been through, I wouldn’t be the person I am today.  To be with someone every day for ten years means you grow together in a way that I suppose married people understand.. no lies, honesty, that person knows you almost better than you know yourself.  In order to maintain the relationship you have to hear qualms the other has with you and be willing to work on them, you have to give up certain selfish ideals, communicate effectively… my relationship with miguel has taught me the importance of honesty and communication and how to resolve conflicts, among other things.  To grow with someone like that at such a young age has given me the advantage of handling most of my other personal relationships well, because I know so much about emotions, the need for validation, and what we need from other people in order to progress.  Miguel is the person who I believe taught me to think about things on a bigger scale, gave me confidence in what I was capable of – even when I didn’t see it, and showed me ways of understanding the world that I never could have conceived of.  He also was the person who was there for me through thick and thin, through my hardest (so far) trials and tribulations.. he was the first person I ever came out to, he worked with me through depression and suicide ideation, the abortion, fights with parents, school… anything and everything.  We don’t really like to talk about this, but there was a time when we thought our lives would be spent together in a romantic way… we were young and idealistic and had not even begun to experience the world (though we thought since we were in college we were old and wise).  The transition from lover to friend was a very tumultuous journey, but that also has taught me so much.  Today Miguel has a beautiful girlfriend (inside and out)who makes him happy and I am on my own relationship adventure (as I generally am) and we are finally learning how to create healthy boundaries for our friendship.

30 Day Personal Challenge

1: Name two of the most significant people in your life and explain why.

2: What is your stance on religon? Would you affiliate yourself with any?

3: What band / musician is most important to you?  Explain why.

4: If you could chose a time period to be born at , which one would it be and why?

5: At what age were you the happiest?

6: Name five things from your wishlist.

7: Do you read? If so, what are your three favorite books and why?

8: If you could live anywhere, where would you live and why?

9: How old do you think you act? Explain.

10: If you could only live off of one food and one beverage for the rest of your days, what would they be?

11: What is your favorite quote? How does it relate to your life?

12: What item of clothing do you wear the most?

13: What can you not live without?

14: Name things that you do every day.

15: Who is someone you admire. Why?

16: If the world were to end tomorrow, what would you do with your remaining time on earth?

17: What do you want to be when you get older? Why did you choose it?

18: If you could meet anyone, living or dead, who would it be? What would you say to them or ask them?

19: What is your favorite film? Why is it so important to you?

20: Would you consider yourself an optimist or a realist? Why?

21: Do you want children? Why or why not?

22: What subject did / do you exceed in / at school?

23: Are you a fan of art? If so, who is your favorite artist? What artistic movement do you prefer?

24: How attractive do you consider yourself?

25: Would you rather date someone plain with an amazing personality or someone beautiful with a plain personality?

26: Choose two: mentally stable, intelligent, attractive. Explain why you chose those two.

27: Which do you prefer: films or television? Why?

28: If you could choose to live forever, would you? Why or why not?

29: Do you wish for anything at 11:11? If so, what do you wish for? Has anything ever come true?

30: What do you imagine your life like at age fifty?

 

