music and reality

Posted on March 15, 2011

25


since I was lame yesterday this post includes #s 3 & 4. Does this mean i “fail”? 😛

3: What band / musician is most important to you?  Explain why.

So, i guess this is really a challenge, since i consciously made the choice last night that this question was too hard and i’d put it off until today.  My first reaction was to write one sentence, but i don’t think that’s the point. this question is proably more difficult for me than “where do you see yourself at the age of fifty”… let me try

There is no single band or musician that is most important to me.  I could not even pick a top five, maybe i could do a top ten.  But here’s the thing… every favorite band/musician or song I have means something special to me. when i listen to it i am transferred immediately to that time and place and inundated with nostalgic feelings of that time in my life.  As I have evolved greatly over the years, so has the music I listen to, but that doesn’t make any of it more or less important.  I have an incredibly ecclectic taste in music, I have everything on my iPod from the RENT soundtrack to Billie Holiday and Carmen McRae to Thrice, Saves the Day, Lilly Allen, No Doubt, and Zion I.  When I listen to music I focus on lyrics, and I prefer music that I can relate to in some way or another, or that I can derive personal meaning from.  Not in all cases, but in most.  Music that I can vibe with.

However, if I absolutely was forced to pick a favorite, I’d say it’s a tie between Alanis Morisette and No Doubt (circa Tragic Kingdom).  I choose these two because they were the very first CDs I ever got.  I laugh about it today with friends, saying “were my parents trying to raise a lesbian feminist by giving me these two CDs” but that sentiment rings true to me on a deeper level.  Before these CDs (and I also got a Patty Loveless CD that Christmas) I listened to the Alanis Morisette tape. Over. And. Over. And. Over.  I think it was laying a foundation for me, that the first music i really got into was a strong female singer/songwriter is on some level important to my development and self realization as a strong woman.  So I’d say if I had to pick just one it would be Alanis, if I could tie it would be Alanis/No Doubt.  The song “just a girl” had me thinking about gender roles and societal views of women before I even had my period.  Music is powerful.

4: If you could chose a time period to be born at , which one would it be and why?

I choose now.  I think we are at a moment of true transformation and breakthrough, a very important time in human history, and I feel lucky to be experiencing it and co-creating it first hand, to be a being of light and send out positive vibrations during an intense shift… it’s where i know i belong.  I feel grounded in my reality (most of the time).  I also think that I have lived lives in many time periods as many different people, and so to think “oh i wish i lived during that time period” is just silly to me, because, uh, i have/am.  Oh the nature of physical reality.

____________________

30 Day Personal Challenge

1: Name two of the most significant people in your life and explain why.

2: What is your stance on religon? Would you affiliate yourself with any?

3: What band / musician is most important to you?  Explain why.

4: If you could chose a time period to be born at , which one would it be and why?

5: At what age were you the happiest?

6: Name five things from your wishlist.

7: Do you read? If so, what are your three favorite books and why?

8: If you could live anywhere, where would you live and why?

9: How old do you think you act? Explain.

10: If you could only live off of one food and one beverage for the rest of your days, what would they be?

11: What is your favorite quote? How does it relate to your life?

12: What item of clothing do you wear the most?

13: What can you not live without?

14: Name things that you do every day.

15: Who is someone you admire. Why?

16: If the world were to end tomorrow, what would you do with your remaining time on earth?

17: What do you want to be when you get older? Why did you choose it?

18: If you could meet anyone, living or dead, who would it be? What would you say to them or ask them?

19: What is your favorite film? Why is it so important to you?

20: Would you consider yourself an optimist or a realist? Why?

21: Do you want children? Why or why not?

22: What subject did / do you exceed in / at school?

23: Are you a fan of art? If so, who is your favorite artist? What artistic movement do you prefer?

24: How attractive do you consider yourself?

25: Would you rather date someone plain with an amazing personality or someone beautiful with a plain personality?

26: Choose two: mentally stable, intelligent, attractive. Explain why you chose those two.

27: Which do you prefer: films or television? Why?

28: If you could choose to live forever, would you? Why or why not?

29: Do you wish for anything at 11:11? If so, what do you wish for? Has anything ever come true?

30: What do you imagine your life like at age fifty?

