Nerds.Pick Up Artists.Chris Brown.

Posted on March 26, 2011

1


from jezebel, a rant on the lack of hollywood nerd-love and nerdy girls in general:

I’ve known a fair number of offbeat women and if you ask, they’ll tell you their one or more stories where guys were initially smitten with their endless knowledge of MST3K episodes, but left shortly after in search of someone less “complicated” (see: more comfortable taking a backseat in the relationship so he could “shine”). It’s kind of like the “women are humor appreciators, men are humor generators” observation that forces me to audibly sigh upon remembering its existence.

even though it sucks, I think those of us offbeat women who are empowered have learned a thing or two about men who want someone less complicated. I have learned that that people who don’t appreciate my complications, nuances, and off-beat-ness aren’t really worth my time because they’re obviously stuck in a paradigm i reject.

For the most part i’ve labelled the pick up artist genre as misogynistic.  I understand it is more complicated than that, and this post from Feministe points that out:

When we talked about feminism, he expressed a surprising amount of respect and appreciation. He said things like “We still are a patriarchal society”, and when I pointed out that many pickup artists hate feminism, he said that “A guy who says he hates feminism (a) doesn’t understand or know feminism, and (b) is scared of powerful women.”

word.

I know i’m late on this, but here’s the Chris Brown video from Il Doctrine. So sick. 

