‘Culture of abuse 20 years’ old’ | The Australian

Posted on April 9, 2011

0


‘Culture of abuse 20 years’ old’ | The Australian.:

It was made clear to me that if I complained, my career would be irreparably damaged. I would be stigmatised by the sexual nature of the assault because homophobia was the norm and at the time homosexuality was still illegal in the ADF. Even though I was the victim, it seemed to be my fault. As a proud young male, this was difficult to cope with.

Shortly after I was attacked, the same gang attacked and gang-raped a female cadet in my division. No one was charged and nothing was done about it. One of the perpetrators said openly that “she was a drunk slut, she had it coming”. That person is now a senior officer in the ADF.

horrifying

Posted in: Uncategorized