Misplaced Priorities: Prisons & the Budget

Posted on April 9, 2011

0


Misplaced Priorities: A New Report From NAACP | NAACP. my privilege was showing, but i was definitely put in check.

On April 7th, the NAACP released a new report, Misplaced Priorities, that examines America’s escalating levels of prison spending and its impact on state budgets and our nation’s children.

I have to admit that not once have I thought about prison spending in relation to our deficits, but that is my privilege showing, and now it has been checked.  I have not done much work around the prison industrial complex, though of course i support those who do, and I think it’s incredibly important to reform (or have a revolution around) our prisons (and the criminal justice system on the whole).  But of course now that it has been pointed out to me blatantly it makes perfect sense.  We want to talk about the war as the biggest sucker-of-money… it’s easier to externalize the blame (not only because we all know average people have no say in the wars, but they literally are overseas and not in our face all of the time).  i need to edjumacate myself around this.

