Myth Three: Fat is Unwanted – Shameless Magazine

Posted on May 8, 2011

0


Myth Three: Fat is Unwanted – Shameless Magazine – your daily dose of fresh feminism for girls and trans youth. Wow.

In fact, every other part of my physical self, I’m capable of accepting fully the way it is. Curly hair, big feet, big boobs, my family’s notoriously large nose, a round face, being tall, having brown eyes—all of it. I don’t put moral judgments on any of it. I don’t try to pretend that I can change any of it. I don’t hate any of it. I don’t feel the need to embrace any of it. It just is.

So perhaps the idea of fat being unwanted has something to do with bubble of magical thinking that most of Western society is caught up in. The magical thinking that says that if we are good enough and diligent enough, and would just stop being lazy, slothful gluttons, then we can get rid of the fat we don’t want and that no one else wants for us….

…I mean, even people who have no ill effects as a result of their fat want to lose it. Lots of people who are in the elusive normal BMI range want to lose their fat. People who can pass for thin want to lose their fat (ever hear someone say that they’re fatter than they look?) In other words, wanting to lose fat is not reserve for fat people and it is certainly not reserved for sick fat people…

..Yeah, there is a lot of baggage that goes along with being fat or even just the idea of fat. Most of it isn’t rational, but that doesn’t make it any less real. And I think maybe in the end that’s what this myth is about. It isn’t the fat we don’t want. If we lived in a world where body types were morally neutral, most people wouldn’t spend any more time trying to get rid of horizontal inches than they do vertical inches.

Maybe, in the end, its the pain and humiliation and shame and rejection that we don’t want, and it’s just easier to say that we don’t want fat.

