Super Easy Activism: Speak Out Against Allen West’s Sexist Behavior (petition)

Posted on July 21, 2011

0


EMILY’s List: Speak Out Against Allen West’s Sexist Behavior. What the hell does “acting like a lady” mean, anyway? So, if you don’t know the scoops, feministing has it on lock (per usual):

Look, Debbie, I understand that after I departed the House floor you directed your floor speech comments directly towards me. Let me make myself perfectly clear, you want a personal fight, I am happy to oblige.You are the most vile, unprofessional, and despicable member of the US House of Representatives. If you have something to say to me, stop being a coward and say it to my face, otherwise, shut the heck up. Focus on your own congressional district!

I am bringing your actions today to our Majority Leader and Majority Whip and from this time forward, understand thatI shall defend myself forthright against your heinous characterless behavior……which dates back to the disgusting protest you ordered at my campaign hqs, October 2010 in Deerfield Beach.

You have proven repeatedly that you are not a Lady,therefore, shall not be afforded due respect from me!

 

this is a great example of gender policing, trying to constrain women into behaving in modest ways, oppression, and feeling entitled decide what’s what (“you only deserve respect if you act a certain way that i deem appropriate”).  Also, he has since blamed his ideologies on his military background.  Military people frequently get a bad rap for being sexist, misogynistic wankers (and i think there’s a reason for that), but to refuse to take personal accountability for the beliefs we have and the ways we treat people based off of those is ridiculous.

 

So if you don’t think women should “act like ladies” in order to deserve respect (respect that i’m sure this guy feels entitled to just because he exists) sign the petition, say something about it. use your voice.  these beliefs permeate our culture, are very deeply rooted,  and entrap women into second class positions either way they turn:  if they behave “correctly” they probably aren’t speaking out against sexist bullshit or standing up for their rights… this is why women ask for less money than men in the workplace, and on the other hand if they do act in “powerful” – not necessarily masculine – ways, they are told they’re out of line and don’t deserve respect.  To me it sounds like no matter what women aren’t getting real respect.  The only way it can stop is if we all take responsibility for ending it.

 

