Visualize Insurrection

Posted on December 15, 2011

4


this may feel somewhat disjointed, but I feel each piece of information is like a piece to the puzzle…

So the other day while i was at revolution books i bought a sticker that says “visualize insurrection”. to me, the blending of visualization (some form of spirituality or at the very least higher consciousness/the recognition that intent shapes reality) and revolt is the exact combination that’s needed to win this fight.   This war.

Insurrection:

Noun:
A violent uprising against an authority or government: “opposition to the new regime led to armed insurrection”.
Synonyms:
rebellion – revolt – uprising – insurgency – rising

not to get all… militant on ya’ll. By no means am I advocating we take to the streets with guns.  but let’s be real, the powers that be won’t relinquish power and control w/o a struggle.  We’re already at war, it’s just hard to see because the resistance has been peaceful for the most part, because the media’s job is to pacify the masses and feed misinformation and propaganda which doesn’t leave room for.. you know.. reality and facts about things that are happening here and globally, and because we live in a culture that values meaningless consumption. Of everything.  Of TV, Music, Information, relationships, etc. that does nothing to stimulate our creativity or intelligence or inspire critical or logical thinking skills.  So I want to try and frame what’s happening in the world to make me feel the need for people to resist, to be ready to at some point, at the very least, defend themselves against violence.

Resistance to the current regime government/system/standard operation of society on all levels is being criminalized – has always been criminalized in one way or another. Look at what went down in Seattle during the WTO (if you don’t know what I mean, watch this video ). Or at the shut downs of Occupy Wall Street, Portland, Oakland. What happened at UC DavisOr any other number of protests over the last… forever.  Watching the livestream of Occupy Oakland getting raided I couldn’t believe (and at the same time fully could believe) this was happening in the United States.  It looked like a war zone.  Not to mention the fact that the United States government has a rich history of suppressing dissent in the forms of infiltrating “progressive” or “radical” groups, collecting intelligence on activists, and even holding people in prison as political prisoners

Prior to September 11, 2011, there were nearly 100 political prisoners and prisoners of war incarcerated in the United States.

[…]

Many of today’s political prisoners were victims of an FBI counter-intelligence program called COINTELPRO.  COINTELPRO consisted of a series of covert actions directed against domestic dissident groups, targeting five perceived threats to “domestic tranquility.”…People viewed as dissidents, Communists, or anti-establishment were at risk of prosecution, persecution or both:

The scare word used to strip rights away used to be “communist”; at one point and another it was “anarchist”; today it’s “terrorist”.  Add in the Patriot Act, which Obama extended for no legitimate reason, the fact that FEMA camps are being activated, and the National Defense Authorization Act:

The White House signaled that President Barack Obama has dropped his veto threat against a bill allowing the military to indefinitely detain U.S. citizens without trial, and letting the military jail anyone it considers a terrorism suspect anywhere in the world without charge or trial.
After passing the House on Wednesday night, the National Defense Authorization Act of 2012 could come to Obama’s desk after a Senate vote today (Thursday), the 220th anniversary of the ratification of the Bill of Rights.
The bill writes a $662 billion check to the Department of Defense.
Civil libertarians fear the law threatens 4th Amendment protections from unreasonable searches and seizures; 5th Amendment guarantees of due process; and 6th Amendment provisions for speedy trial.
“President Obama made a choice with chilling consequences today when he announced he would not veto the NDAA despite the lack of change to provisions of the bill that make it even more difficult to shut down the prison at Guantanamo and make indefinite military detention without trial a permanent feature of the U.S. legal system,” the Center for Constitutional Rights said in a statement.

But what will we say to future generations if the National Defense Authorization Act of 2012 (NDAA) becomes law? That legislation contains a provision that authorizes the president to indefinitely imprison, without a criminal charge or court hearing, any suspected terrorist who is captured within the United States — including American citizens.

and the kind of government we’re living under in the United States becomes crystal clear. Before I was fully aware of the state of affairs – read: facist police state:

radical authoritarian nationalist political ideology.[1][2] Fascists seek to rejuvenate their nation based on commitment to the national community as an organic entity, in which individuals are bound together in national identity by suprapersonal connections of ancestry,culture, and blood…Fascists advocate the creation of a totalitarian single-party state that seeks the mass mobilization of a nation through indoctrinationphysical educationdiscipline and family policy (such as eugenics)….

Fascist governments forbid and suppress opposition.[7]

Fascism promotes political violence and war as actions that create national regeneration, spirit and vitality.[4][8] It views violence as a fact of life that is a necessary means to achieve human progress.[9] It exalts militarism as providing positive transformation in society and providing spiritual renovation, education, instilling of a will to dominate in people’s character and creating national comradeship through military service.

and before they further and rapidly got worse I began reading The Coming Insurrection.  I never got to finish it.  I was inspired, concerned. because an “invisible committee” of french anarchists seemed, at the time, dangerous and somewhat outlandish and I still harbored culturally programmed notions of what “anarchy” was. Now, with the Occupy movement happening worldwide and a more holistic and historically accurate understanding of the “A” word, I feel myself drawn to the text once again. I found it online, in it’s full format, which you can read here.  Here is an excerpt:

First Circle – “I AM WHAT I AM”
“I AM WHAT I AM.” That’s marketing’s final offering to the world, the final stage of
advertising’s evolution, beyond, far beyond, all the exhortations to be different, to be
yourself, and drink Pepsi.

It took decades of concepts to get there, to that pure
tautology, to “I = I.” He’s running on a treadmill in front of the mirror in his gym…
she’s coming back from work, flying down the road in her Smart car. Will they
meet?
“I AM WHAT I AM.” My body belongs to me. I am me, you are you, and it’s not
going too well. Mass personalization. Individualization of all conditions – of life,
work, misery. Diffuse schizophrenia. Rampant depression. Atomization into fine
paranoiac particles. Hysterics upon contact. The more I want to be Me, the more I
feel an emptiness. The more I express myself the more I dry up. The more I run
after it, the more tired out I get. I hang onto it, you hang onto it; we cling to our “I”
like a tedious bureaucratic window-job. We’ve become our own representatives in a
strange commerce, guarantors of a personalization that in the end looks a lot like an
amputation. We insure ourselves all the way to bankruptcy, with a more or less
disguised clumsiness.
While I wait, I manage. The quest for a self; my blog, my apartment, the latest
fashionable idiocy, couples’ stories, getting ass… all kinds of prosthetic limbs to
hang onto an “I” with! And if “society” hadn’t become such a definitive abstraction,
then it would just be all these existential crutches offered me to let me drag myself
along a little more, the ensemble of dependencies that I’ve contracted, for the price
of my identity. The handicapped person is the model citizen of tomorrow. It’s not
without foresight that the associations that exploit them today demand a
“subsistence income” for them.
The injunction everywhere to “be someone” maintains the pathological state that
makes this society necessary. The injunction to be strong produces the very
weakness it maintains itself on, to such a point that everything seems to take on a
therapeutic aspect, even working or love. All the times we ask “how’s it going?” all
day long – like a society full of patients, taking each other’s temperature. Sociability
is now made up of a thousand little niches, a thousand little refuges where you can
come in to keep warm. And it’s always better there than in the bitter cold outside.
Where everything’s false, since it’s all just a pretext for getting heated up. Where
nothing can happen since we’re all too busy deafly shivering together. This society
will soon only be held together by the mere tension of all the social atoms straining
towards an illusory healing. It’s a power station that drives its turbines on a gigantic
reservoir of dammed up tears that is always about to spill over.

Here is Glenn Beck’s review of the book (which of course, makes me realize even more how awesome it must be, for it to be described by those whose goal it is to uphold the current system and realistically, further the inequalities and power and control of the many by the few, as something so dangerous):

Make no mistake, I’m not calling for violence.  I’m not advocating a call to violence be made.  If anything I am making a call to action, to agency, to autonomy in the face of increasing repression.  I believe that without love and respect nothing worthwhile can be achieved.  The means are the ends.  As we move forward I think it’s incredibly important that we don’t lose sight of that fact.

“Marxism has tended to be a theoretical or analytical discourse about revolutionary strategy. Anarchism has tended to be an ethical discourse about revolutionary practice… It insists, before anything else, that one’s means must be consistent with one’s ends; one cannot create freedom through authoritarian means; in fact, as much as possible, one must… embody the society one wishes to create” -David Graeber

If anything I hope we can break free of this false dichotomy of a totally peaceful revolution or a totally violent one.  well, honestly, the bottom line is I hope we can, as a people, realize the repression we are facing – the direction we are heading, and realize there is a choice. We can choose to resist. And I use that term loosely. Resistance to me is a nebulous concept and can take many forms. But it’s important to do.  I think there’s a lot at stake. I think it’s interesting to ponder if/when the Defense Bill passes, how long until criticizing the government is considered an act worthy of detainment?  By expecting a better world for ourselves and future generations and advocating for such a future, as is our right – not merely as citizens of the United States, but as human beings on the earth, will we be considered terrorists? I visualize resistance.